What do you need to get a Louisiana inspection sticker?

What do you need to get a Louisiana inspection sticker?
Bank Image

BATON ROUGE, La. (BRPROUD) – In Louisiana, drivers must get an inspection sticker every year or every other year. An inspection sticker proves that a vehicle is safe to drive on the road according to Louisiana’s standards, but some parishes and cities require drivers to get an enhanced safety check.

Emissions.org said drivers who have vehicles registered in Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston and West Baton Rouge parishes must pass a smog test. The Clean Air Act of 1970 requires vehicle emissions inspections in metropolitan cities where the quality of air doesn’t meet federal standards. 

Drivers need to present their driver’s license, current vehicle registration and current valid insurance.

An inspection costs $18 in Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston and West Baton Rouge parishes. All other parishes charge $10 to $20 depending on how long the sticker will last, according to the Louisiana State Police.

A driver with an expired sticker could be fined up to $124.

A vehicle’s brakes, speedometer, odometer, mirrors, seatbelts and parking brakes are checked. The person conducting the inspection also will ask the driver to honk their horn, turn their headlights on and off and turn on their windshield wipers.

A car that fails an inspection needs to be repaired and pass a reinspection test within 30 days, according to the Louisiana Department of Environmental Quality.

During an inspection, a car’s windshield will be looked at. A vehicle can be rejected if there is a crack or anything hindering the driver’s line of vision. In certain areas of the windshield, cracks cannot be longer than 8 inches or are spread throughout it, according to the state police.

The windows’ tint also will be inspected. A vehicle can be rejected if the tint does not follow Louisiana’s tinting law. The window tint is checked with a light meter. According to the state police, a car’s window tint must meet the following requirements:

  • Windshield – no more than 5″ from the top of the windshield and must be transparent. Red or amber window tints are illegal.
  • Front-side windows must have at least 40% light transmission
  • Side windows must have at least 25% light transmission
  • The rearmost glass must have at least 12% light transmission

Emissions.org has a list of places within East Baton Rouge Parish to get an emissions check.

  • CJ’s Inspection (5735 Silverleaf Ave.)
  • Grant’s Auto Shop (1325 Airline Hwy., Building 1)
  • Department of Motor Vehicles Baton Rouge (8660 United Plaza Blvd.)
  • Department of Motor Vehicles Baton Rouge (7979 Independence Blvd.)

Source

About Mary Weyand 11096 Articles
Mary founded Scoop Tour with an aim to bring relevant and unaltered news to the general public with a specific view point for each story catered by the team. She is a proficient journalist who holds a reputable portfolio with proficiency in content analysis and research. With ample knowledge about the Automobile industry, she also contributes her knowledge for the Automobile section of the website.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*